French summer


Pyrénées-Orientales
Pyrenées Orientales

I´m sorry I haven´t got so much time to update and upload some of our holidays pictures. But I had a very busy summer weeks.

As I wrote before, this year we decided to enjoy our summer holidays with my sister and her family in south France; and we really had a good time!

View from our place
View from our place
Céret
Céret

We visited a little town called Céret, where Picasso used to stay and paint. He also worked with ceramic, unfortunately I was not allowed to take pictures of his amazing work at the Musée d´Art Moderne de Ceret (Modern Art Museum of Ceret).

There were also some Matisse paintings and drawings that looked so “easy” to do but I´m sure they are not. Maybe I should try? I like painting also so why not?

Céret is very little but it has a lot of eating places to offer, the Modern Art Museum is a must and lots of coffees to sit down and enjoy the view. Very cosy local “boutiques” with nice clothes also, local design, and art galleries. The whole population gotta be artist to could supply such amount of galleries at a little town.

Most people on restaurants and cafés speak english! So even if I tried to practice my well forgotten french, I always had the chance to say it in english if I could not remember the right word. Our perception was that Céret people was really friendly and helpful. So, if you ever are traveling near this town, you should visit it.

Céret
Céret

As we stayed near Ceret, it was easy and convenient to drive to Perpignan, about 50 minutes from where we stayed. Perpignan was different, but not necessarily better, it was a big city comparing it to Ceret. It has an old town with its tower and an old castle. Beside its river people goes through a very nice boulevard with boutiques and restaurants, Rivière La Basse.
That day was so hot that I didn´t manage to take so many pictures.

Perpignan
Perpignan

We walked through its streets and the plan was to drive to Perpignan´s seaside after visiting the city but time passed so fast so we decided to get back “home” where a big grill with guests were waiting for us.

Rivière La Basse-Perpignan
Rivière La Basse-Perpignan

We also went to the Pyrénées-Atlantiques, near Bayonne, where we stayed at the countryside. This place was so magical that I would not have any problem to move there… Living on the countryside and have a city nearby is just perfect! At least for me.

So, this little cosy house was very old, from the late 1800! At the beginning I was a bit scared but never happened something “spooky” so I kind of relax. Even if the house was so old, it had all the facilities and the owners had upgraded it to nowadays standard.

The garden and the landscape
The garden and the landscape
Inside the little old house
Inside the little old house
Dining room
Dining room

I´ve been thinking that I don´t wanna make this post that long that becomes boring to read it. So maybe I can continue with a second post about our French Summer and upload other pictures of some tours we made.  Isn´t it great?

So, last picture today is the house from the outside. It had 1000 sm garden and a petanque yard (is that correct? the place to play “petanque”) where I almost never was able to be because of my allergies to pollen and mosquitos! 😦

French countryside house
French countryside house
LEAVE A COMMENT

